Congrats to Lincs’ Award Winners

On Friday, April 14th, the Lincolns held the annual Awards Banquet at River Valley Golf Course.  The following summary and photos were submitted by Spencer Seymour of the St. Marys Independent.

Playoff MVP:

Last Friday, the St. Marys Lincolns held their annual Awards Banquet at River Valley Golf and Tube Slide. Michael Elliston and Matteo Lalama were co-winners of the Jacques Cousineau Award as Playoff MVPs, which was presented by the award’s namesake Cousineau. Elliston was unable to attend so his father Rob accepted the award on his son’s behalf.

Rookie OTY:

Luca Spagnolo received the Earl Leslie Award as the Lincolns’ Rookie of the Year, presented by Don Leslie. The Milton native had 17 goals and 40 points in 45 games in the regular season. Spagnolo was also a key part of the Lincolns’ best line during their second-round series against the London Nationals, a line also including Ethan Lamoureux and Chase MacQueen-Spence.

Top Defenceman:

Nathan Small and Adam Barkley were co-winners of the David Baynes Award as the team’s best defencemen, presented by former GM Mike Brogden. Small led all Lincolns’ skaters in points in the playoffs and led St. Marys defenders in the regular season with 47 points. Barkley came second in powerplay goals during the regular season. Both had 11 goals in the regular season.

Leading Scorer:

Captain Ethan Lamoureux became a back-to-back winner of the Harold Maxwell Award as the Lincolns’ leading scorer in the regular season for the second consecutive year. The award was presented to Lamoureux by Lincs’ Assistant Coach and former scoring leader Michael Siddall. (All photos by Spencer Seymour)


Veteran of the Year:

Adrian Stubberfield received the Bannerman Memorial Award as the St. Marys Lincolns’ Veteran of the Year at the team’s recent Year-End Awards Banquet held at River Valley Golf & Tube Slide. Presenting the award were Mike and Chris Bannerman. The 20-year-old Chatham native was known for his excellent defensive play, serving as a mainstay on the team’s penalty kill and shutdown line. (Photo credit: Spencer Seymour)

Regular Season MVP: 

Ethan Lamoureux and Jacob Chantler were co-winners of the Frank Edye Award as the Lincolns’ Regular Season MVPs, presented by Edye himself. Chantler, who also snagged the D.R. Stevens Award for excellence in leadership was unable to attend, so the award was received by his mother Tracey. Both forwards scored 20 goals this season and Lamoureux led the team in points for the second straight year. (Photo credit: Spencer Seymour)


Most Dedicated:

Jimmy Schiedel won the Jack Boyd Memorial Trophy as the team’s Most Dedicated Player. The award was presented by Schiedel’s own grandmother, Donna Aldis. The St. Marys product and third-generation Lincoln earned one of the loudest crowd reactions of the season with his lone goal in the 2023 post-season. (Photo credit: Spencer Seymour)


Most Improved:

Jacob Montesi earned the R.G. Kelly Hearn Award as the Lincolns’ Most Improved Player. Montesi, in his first full Junior ‘B’ season, started the year in a fight for a job on the St. Marys blueline, but over the course of the year, became a mainstay on the back end for his excellent defensive play and strong skating. (Photo credit: Spencer Seymour)


Ability & Sportsmanship:

Jaden Lee took home the Bert Stacey Memorial Award for Ability and Sportsmanship. Lee was just one point shy from averaging a point per game this season and was tied for the fourth-fewest penalty minutes among all St. Marys forwards. The award was presented to Lee by Jeff Shaw. (Photo credit: Spencer Seymour)


Fan Favourite:

Austin Keleher finished atop the voting by the Lincolns’ faithful to win the Fan Appreciation Award, presented to the Cambridge native by Lincs’ play-by-play voice Spencer Seymour. Very few home games went by without Keleher having a line of fans to interact with or sign autographs for. (Photo credit: Mike Chennette/McGinny Photography)